Whatcom County Fire District #4 4142 Britton Loop, Bellingham, WA 98226 held at 9408 Odell St. Blaine, WA 98230, and Zoom 9:00 a.m.

November 22, 2024 Special Board of Fire Commissioners Meeting

CALL TO ORDER

Vice-Chairman Johnson called the special Whatcom County Fire District #4 Board of Fire Commissioners meeting for November 22, 2024, to order at 9:03 a.m.

ROLL CALL

Attendees: Vice-Chairman Tim Johnson; Fire Commissioner Mark Lann; Fire Chief Jason Van der Veen.

With the rescission of Proclamation 20-28, the district continues to do its best to provide accommodations to the public. A direct link allowing the public to participate in the meeting during the public comment section was included on the meeting agenda and posted on the District's website.

PUBLIC COMMENT

None

Resolution 2024-06 Authorizing 2025 Property Tax Levy (EMS). Chief Van der Veen noted that although the fire and EMS Property Tax Levies were combined in one resolution last year, the County requested separate resolutions to request the EMS and Fire levies. The attorney drafted the resolution.

Chief Van der Veen noted that since Resolution 2025-06 Authorizing 2025 Property Tax Levies (Fire/EMS) was approved following a public hearing on November 14, 2024, another public hearing was unnecessary.

The EMS levy will not increase, and the district will bank the one percent increase for future needs.

Vice-Chairman Johnson read the resolution.

WHEREAS, the District has properly given notice of the public hearing held on November 14, 2024, to consider the District's current expense budget and revenue needs for the 2025 calendar year, pursuant to RCW 84.55.120;

WHEREAS, the Board of Commissioners of the District after hearing and after duly considering all revenue sources for the District's 2025 budget and all relevant evidence and testimony presented, determined that the District requires a regular EMS levy in the amount of \$418.532.37 which includes an increase in property tax revenue from the previous year, and amounts resulting from the addition of new construction and improvements to property and any increase in the value of state-assessed property, and amounts authorized by law as a result of any annexations that have occurred and refunds

made, in order to discharge the expected expenses and obligations of the district and in its best interest; now, therefore,

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS OF WHATCOM COUNTY FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT 4 THAT:

- 1. An increase in the regular property tax levy, in addition to any amount resulting from the addition of new construction and improvements to property and any increase in the value of state assessed property, is hereby authorized for the 2024 fire levy, to be collected in 2025, in the amount of \$418,532.37, which is a dollar increase of \$0.00 and a percentage increase of 0% from the previous year's actual EMS levy of \$418,532.37.
- 2. Further, pursuant to RCW 84.55.092, it is the intent of the District commissioners to protect the District's future levy capacity. Therefore, in any year in which the district reduces the regular EMS tax levy below the amount of levy to which the district is entitled by law, consistent with existing voter authorizations and the limitations of the state constitution and statutes, it is the district's intent to fully preserve future levy capacity as the aforesaid statute allows. The county assessor is therefore requested to set the regular property EMS tax levy at the amount which would be allowed under RCW 84.55, as if the regular EMS property tax for the district for taxes due in prior years (beginning with 1986) had been set for the full or maximum amount authorized under the law.

That the Board secretary provide a signed copy of this Resolution, together with any applicable exhibits, via email to:

MOTION: Commissioner Lann moved to approve Resolution 2024-06 Authorizing 2025 Property Tax Levies (EMS) as presented. The motion was seconded by Vice-Chairman Johnson and approved 2-0.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 9:11 a.m.

| | Respectfully Submitted by: |
|-------------------------|--------------------------------|
| | Jennie Sand, Board Secretary |
| | |
| ATTEST: | |
| Steve Cooley, Chairman | Tim Johnson, Vice-Chairman |
| Mark Lann, Commissioner | Jason Van der Veen, Fire Chief |